Everyday inspiration – a quote 

Today’s WordPress challenge – find a quote and start writing..


It’s in our hands to make a difference. Every day we have the chance to make or break someone’s day. People we know or strangers.

“What a beautiful colour” I said to a woman on Sunday as I walked to get the paper. Her startled look at being addressed by a stranger quickly transformed into a huge smile. She thanked me and went on her way, smiling.

In the park the next day an American couple waved a £20 note at me and asked for change for the toilet. I didn’t have enough so asked them to check how much it was. 50p which I gave them. “I’m sure you’d do the same for me” I said. The woman paused briefly as if to consider whether she would and then ran off with an air of desperation to the public toilets thanking me profusely as she went. I continued my reading in the weak English sun. A while later the husband came back up to me having found a shop to get some change wanting to repay me. A little thing to help a stranger out, but a contribution to a day for someone else. 

A number of calls to my ageing dad over a day and week just to remind him he’s loved. 

A tweet sent to support a group of grieving parents in their battle with a failing health board chief exec. Too many avoidable deaths. 

At work this week mediating a meeting between two people locked in their view of injustices done and malicious intent. One hour later, smiles, a deeper understanding of another and themselves, the opportunity of building relationships in the future, a sense of being truly heard and an opportunity to really understand another’s world . 

Nelson Mandela was thinking of bigger changes when he said this no doubt and we can look at his life and see how much he sacrificed to make the world a better place, to make a difference. 

For me it means small and big things. Where we can be kind we should be. Where we can help someone out we ought to. Where we can lift someone’s day then it’s the right thing to do. It’s all in our gift. 

One thought on “Everyday inspiration – a quote ”

Leave a Reply

