A birthday remembered

You would have been 88 today.

Never really liked a fuss at any age but would have been disappointed not to have a birthday remembered.

The cards would be arranged on the table in the corner by the window overlooking the harbour – gathered around a vase of flowers in colours you loved. Your favourite French hand creams, silk scarfs, art books, chocolate gingers. Some of the things you enjoyed.

10 weeks tomorrow since your last day. 11 weeks today since I last kissed you goodbye and told you I loved you and thanked you for being my mum. A visit full of tenderness. Your hand in mine. I will always remember your touch.

So happy birthday mum. You are in my thoughts and heart today especially.

12 thoughts on “A birthday remembered”

  1. It’s knowing all those little things about her that you write of that mark out how deeply woven into us mums are.
    I’m sorry for your loss – I know how that feels.x

Leave a Reply

