Only in England

image

What a great photographic exhibition it was at the Science Museum in London. Only in England. Photographs by Tony Ray Jones and Martin Parr. I loved it.

Tony Ray jones died at 30 in 1972. What else might he have produced had he lived longer ? The images selected were great. His representation of Englishness. Images of stoic holidaymakers braving bad weather at the beach, seaside guest houses, women knitting in deck chairs on Brighton Beach, men in ill fitting suits dressed for an occasion. Dogs and owners. A fond humour.

The commentary said “he had an eye for bizarre social interactions and incongruous narratives”. I love that description. This would be a great example :

image

A man in a suit drinking tea, not fazed at all by those around him.

And Martin Parr, inspired by his work, produced lots of images from the community around him in Hebden. Bridge. A mouse show in 1978. Yes, a mouse show! A man in a suit proudly holding a cabbage aloft- the winner in some competition of locally grown vegetables. Ladies in hats in a Methodist church hall pews eating scones and drinking tea to celebrate a church anniversary.

I left inspired and wanting to get my little lumix back into my handbag to catch the moments, the incongruous narratives I find around me.

A link to the exhibition – but as a novice blogger I fear I haven’t done it quite right!

http://www.artfund.org/what-to-see/exhibitions/2013/09/21/only-in-england-photographs-by-tony-ray-jones-and-martin-parr-exhibition?gclid=COjzxdeY-bsCFQXLtAodlV0ATg

Great Sunday!

6 thoughts on “Only in England”

  1. This has reminded me of when I visited Brighton Beach. A man in a suit came down to the pebbles, proceeded to undress packing his suit into his briefcase then continued to walk down the beach, naked apart from his bowler hat. No-one turned an eye (apart from me.)

Leave a Reply

