My town

image

Bright sun and blue sky In London today. So welcome. Hate so what feels like endless dark, wet, cold days.

Been walking my feet off. Passed so many iconic sites, the places that make up my neighbourhood. Natural History Museum, Royal Albert Hall, Kensington Gardens, Hyde Park. Lovely. Past too a sign not seen before, saying that the church used to be attached to a leper colony. Different days. I enjoy the sense of history, wondering about all the people over the centuries who walked these streets.

Now it’s tourists taking photos with their smart phones, wealthy Russians in ostentatious expensive ugly fur coats, women in Burqas walking some steps behind their husbands, joggers in Lycra speeding by, a homeless man with his daily drawings of horses heads.

Always something and someone to catch my eye.

I love my neighbourhood.

3 thoughts on “My town”

  1. I never used to like London, when I visited. It all seemed so claustrophobic and … alien to me. Then I read a book by Edward Rutherford (cunningly titled ‘London’). Totally turned how I look at the city on its head! Now when I go I always remember to look up – and to hunt out the little hidden gems!

  2. I visited London for the first time in November 2012 for work. It was awesome! I can see why you love it. Coming back in just over a week and can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

